E. Lee Walker Award for Community Collaboration

This child, adult, group or organization will have demonstrated the value of working with partners to create opportunities for kids to get out into nature regularly. Lee Walker has established himself as the quintessential collaborator, some might say a collaborator magnet, and so our award for community collaboration is presented in his name. Lee served as the chair of the Westcave Board, and has been its primary benefactor, for more than 30 years. It was Lee’s skill at collaborative leadership that generated the funds to build our award-winning Warren Skaaren Environmental Learning Center and those same skills have guided Westcave in a new and expanded strategic direction.

Previous winners include:

  • 2008 Youth Launch: Urban Roots Program
  • 2009 National Wildlife Federation and Texas Wildlife Association
  • 2010 Texas Parks and Wildlife Department – Texas Outdoor Family Program
  • 2011 El Buen Samaritano Episcopal Mission
  • 2012 Candlelight Ranch
  • 2013 Sustainable Food Center - Sprouting Healthy Kids
  • 2014 EcoRise Youth Innovations
  • 2015 Sebastian Casarez
  • 2016 Marya Fowler - National Wildlife Federation & Anne Muller - Austin ISD
  • for Discovery Hill Outdoor Learning Center
  • 2017 City of Austin, Parks & Recreation Department, Cities Connecting Children to Nature
  • 2018 National Parks Conservation Association (NPCA)
  • 2019 Variety, the Children’s Charity of Texas
  • 2020 Outdoor Teacher Cadre, AISD